Our Community - School Council


Nhulunbuy Primary School  has a very active and supportive School Council. The school council members include parents, teachers, community members, executive school staff and invited members. The partnership aims to advocate for better opportunities and outcomes for our students and improvement to our school.

The school council values collaboration and respectful relationships in order to be effective.  The entire school community benefits from the time and commitment our volunteers contribute to the school council. 

If you would like to be involved in the school council to support your child's education, support the school or the community the school council meets twice a term usually in week 3 and week 9.

School Council  Members 2014:

Executive Committee:   

 Matt Watson


Stanford Forbes


Hannah Seaniger

 Vice Chairperson

Lena Larson


 Paul Mery


Melissa Mills

Cogso Rep

Parent Members: 


Ann-Maree Baker

Julianne Donnelly
Alisha Chapman Julian Hay
Jeff Cook  

Staff members:


Rachel Blundell


Natalie Ferguson

Lena Larsen  
Clarice O'Leary  



Invited Members:


 Lynne Walker


Examples of the work of the school council:

  • Advocating community needs and engaging the school community

  • Participating in setting standards for improvement

  • Advising on the school’s physical needs

  • Ensuring cleaning and grounds maintenance is done

  • Contributing to t he setting of school policies

  • general curriculum related matters

  • manage school property

Recent achievements by the school council  include:
  • Celebrating our 40 Year Anniversary in 2012 with a number of events including the school fete.

  • New Teacher furniture for classrooms purchased.

  • Over $26,000 raised in 2012.

The School Council Committees include:

  • Finance

  • Facilities and Grounds

  • Fundraising

  • Community linkages

For more information about school councils: NT Council of Government School Organisations